5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2012 3:53 PM by cfg_2451

Is there a clarity function in Photoshop or After Effects similar to LR?

GregBC727

I am aware of the clarity option in Photoshop effects for RAW files, but is there a clarity option in any of the programs for editing video?

I am a photographer and have used LR for years.

I am new to videos and trying to get the same type of easy adjustments in either Photoshop or After Effects.

I have done much research and watched days worth of tutorials, but I can't seem to find any way to enhance a photo the same way I can in LR.

For now I am importing the video file into AE, exporting as a JPEG sequence, importing into LR, editing the clairty, shadows/highlights, vibrance and saturation, exporting at highest quality, then reimporting back into AE.

The result is good, but I literally have hundreds and eventually thousnds of clips to edit and I would like to know if there is a more seamless way.

I have also had trouble adjusting shadows and highlights in AE, many times there is a flicker between frames, slightly brighter or darker when the movie runs, even though I am just selecting the general AE Shadow/Highlights effects option.

I have tried adjusting curves and levels in AE and PS, but it is not as accurate for me as LR.

In LR I can get exactly what I want, but exporting multiple times probably degrades things a bit and is time consuming.

If there is a different way to get the same clarity in either PS or AE I would be happy if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Is there a clarity function in Photoshop or After Effects similar to LR?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It's called color grading or color timing. The best 3rd party plug-in for that is MagicBullet Colorista. There are also tools in AE for color grading.