Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best PC workstation for CS5.5 Graphic Design Work

New Here ,
Oct 08, 2012 Oct 08, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all,

I'm a graphic designer looking to get a new system. Budget is about $3-$5k. I've been a Mac fan for years but want a PC this time; I can get near cost pricing on PC parts as husband is in IT.

Conscidering this system:

Lenovo D30 XEON E5-2609 Workstation

2nd processor: INTEL XEON 2.4G 2011 10M

NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 (2GB)

16GB ECC DDRIII RAM

Intel 520 Series SSD + WD Black 72k HD for storage

Windows 7 x64 Pro

Dual 24" 1080x1920 HD LED Samsung Monitors

Work I do:

- Graphic design - logos, websites, trade show displays, advertising, etc. (Mostly Illustrator)

- Light programming (Mostly Dreamweaver)

- Photo editing (Photoshop)

- Desktop Publishing (creation of magazine, advertising maps/guide booklets) in InDesign.

Often use large files; trade show displays are huge generally. Also like to use iTunes, Chrome, etc in the background.

Using latest CS6 suite

Hardware Questions:

- Am I better to put the money into one high end processor, or dual processors?

- Am I better to use workstation Xeon processors or Desktop i7 processors?

- ECC RAM or regular RAM? Is ECC worth the extra money?

- Video Card - is the Quadro 4000 worth the money, or am I better to go with something cheaper and spend more on RAM and processor, or go with two Quatros?

Thanks in advance for taking the time to give me a hand and help recommend what hardware to use

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,
Oct 08, 2012 Oct 08, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For apps you listed, unless you work with 500mp images in PS, a single CPU system seems a better fit.

Workstation-class dual CPU systems usually only make sense in two cases: