6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2012 1:20 PM by tom.shaked2

Help with Newspaper Printing Workflow

tom.shaked2

Hello everyone,

I'm designing for a newspaper right now, and I was hoping to get some assistance regarding establishing a good workflow.

Here's the info about our operation right now:

Adobe Indesign CS4 (Mac OSX Snow Leopard)

Adobe Photoshop CS6 (Mac OSX Snow Leopard)

Our Pre-press department use a thermal Screen CTP configured to 1200 DPI and 85 LPI with the latest version of the Harlequin RIP (v9.2)

We transport the PDF files using flash drives or Google drive, neither of which (to my knowledge) perform any compression.

Our printing press is an Offset Web Press called Goss Community.

The paper we're printing on is Standard Newsprint (48.8 GSM)

I've been messing around with configuring the InDesign PDF output options, such as trying to change the default Destination from the US Web Coated (SWOP) to SNAP 2007, but I'm no big expert in creating newspaper print-ready PDFs, or in preparing images for this purpose in Photoshop.

Also, we're not going to pull off anything too fancy, just trying to stick to the basics.

I'd appreciate advice on how to best output the PDFs and prepare the images.

Best Regards,

Tom

• 1. Re: Help with Newspaper Printing Workflow
          rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I've been messing around with configuring the InDesign PDF output options, such as trying to change the default Destination from the US Web Coated (SWOP) to SNAP 2007, but I'm no big expert in creating newspaper print-ready PDFs, or in preparing images for this purpose in Photoshop.

You probably want to start by using the SNAP profile as your document CMYK and for any conversions you make to CMYK in Photoshop—if your default PDF export destination is SWOP you're not setting up your docs to SNAP.

So a Color Settings saved out of Photoshop and used in all your CS apps might look like this:

Screen shot 2012-10-10 at 8.18.11 AM.png