6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2012 3:44 PM by lasvideo

AJA Kona LHi External Monitor playback lag issues with CS6

kellyclarksn

The agency that I'm an editor for is finally switching from FCP 7 to Adobe's Premiere CS6. However we are having issues with laggy playback in Premiere CS6. Before I explain my current issue, let me explain the issues I've had prior to this and how I solved them. I've spent the entire day working with AJA support and my companies IT guy trying to fix this issue. So far we have gotten it to about 90% full functionality, but it sadly still lags more than Final Cut 7. We are editing Alexa Pro Res 4444 footage with sync sound with all our sequence settings set to Pro Res 4444 with no render bar. At the start of the day, we were having massively laggy playback while using the external monitors. Although we did not solve it completely we did manage to figured out that most of the issues had to do with a number of settings and current software versions.

In the Preferences,

1st we switched the audio hardware device default to Built-In Line Output

2nd we switched Audio Output Mapping Map Output for Built-in Line Output

3rd our Playback Default Player is set to Adobe Player, and our Audio Playback is set to AJA Kona

-Our AJA Kona settings are set to 1080p 23.98 which is the closest we can get to our sequence which was shot in 23.976. The Match Sequence setting doesn't seem to work at all as both monitors go black.

4th we went back to finder and set in our SYSTEM PREFERENCES all our Audio playback to Line Out instead of the Kona card.

5th we downgraded our Premiere's version from 6.0.2 to 6.0.1 because there has yet to be an AJA Kona update for that Premiere 6.0.2 version.

6th We also upgraded from Snow Leopard 10.6.8 to Lion's 10.7.5 as all CS6 versions are optimized for 10.7 and later.