6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2012 9:53 AM by Mariano . . .

Dynamic link workflow same PP edit different AE comps

Mariano . . . Level 1

First I'm new with premiere pro. I switch from FCP7. And i must confess I'm really happy with it.  All my inserts of dynamic links from AE in the timeline makes my workflow super fast and also with much better quality than FCP not only because of less rendering and better codec handling but also creative is more friendly. is so easy to make a little obsesive correction of a animation when the file is not render yet! haha love it.

Now I need to know how do you think is the best way to organize a PP project when you need to make different version of the same edit.

for example let's say if you are doing a TV commercial for one country and then you need exactly the same edit but the logo or any graphic need to change because is for another country. How do you do to make the same edit but with different AE comps links?

when using finalcut I usually render two different comps from AE and Insert them on two different sequences in FCP. I would like to have something similar but with AE links

the only way I found to have different versions in the same Premiere project is using only one sequence in PP and changing AE comps, I close layers in AE and open the ones I want to see in PP but is not a very organize workflow.

any suggestion?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Dynamic link workflow same PP edit different AE comps
          lasvideo Level 4

One possible approach is to duplicate your PrP sequence for the new market.

Then close PrP for a moment and open the first AE project you need to change.

Make your changes and save under a new name.

RENDER out a movie (make sure the project link option is checked  in the export options screen).

Open PrP and the sequence you just duplicated.

Now Import the AE movie with revised info into PrP.

Use the REPLACE function to place the new AE movie over the old AE dynamic linked clip.