Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FTP error - cannot make connection to host

Oct 11, 2012 Oct 11, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a novice to web development and using Dreamweaver, in general.  I am trying to connect to a remote server from HostGator using an FTP connection.  I have followed all the steps listed on the Dreamweaver Tutorial/Help site and I am still having problems.  I tried troubleshooting based on the suggestions provided and nothing seems to work, i.e., disabling firewall, changing ports, etc.  When I "Test" the connection, I get an FTP error.  I've been working on this issue for 4 hours and can't seem to get anywhere.  Any help is much appreciated.  Thanks.

Using:

Windows 7

Dreamweaver CS6

McAfee Virus Protection

CenturyLink as internet provider

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 11, 2012 Oct 11, 2012

Site > Manage Sites > New ... 

First, tell DW where to find your local site files.

C:\YourSiteName\

Then go to Servers and set up your Remote server details and log-in info.

I'm pretty sure HostGator uses public_html as your site root directory.  See screenshot below and change htdocs\ to public_html\

CS6-remote-site-root-folder.jpg

Nancy O.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you working in a "Defined" site?

Have you tried to FTP with a 3rd party FTP like Filezilla?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What does a "Defined" site mean? Do I need to "Put" something?

No, I have not tired Filezilla. 

Votes

Translate