7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2013 4:30 PM by A.T. Romano

Premiere Elements 9 Crashes in Mac OSX 10.7.2

tmtm10 Level 1

I have a new I Mac with OSX 10.7.2 . I have Photoshop Premiere Elements 9 and I have had many crashes with this program while working on projects. Has anyone else experienced this problem or/and has a remedy. Adobe apparently doesn't address this issue..

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 9 Crashes in Mac OSX 10.7.2
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

I've been using versions 9, 10 and 11 on my Mac and have never had a crash with either Premiere Elements or Photoshop Elements. And I've been using Mountain Lion for a couple of months without a hiccup.

What kind of hardware do you have? How fast is your processor and how much RAM have you got? You definitely should have at least 4 gig. (Version 11 can take advantage of even more on Mountain Lion, since it's a 64-bit program.)

And what model of camcorder and format of video are you trying to edit?

Versions 9 and 10 don't work as well with non-camcorder footage, such as video from smartphones and iPads. But version 11 can work with almost any video source flawlessly.

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 9 Crashes in Mac OSX 10.7.2
            tmtm10 Level 1

Hi Steve,

Hardware: iMac, Egato video capture device, Transferring VHS-C tapes using RCA analog jacks

Processor: 2.5 Ghz Intel Corei5

Memory: 8 GB

I get to transfer the video to the desktop and have no problem editing out all snowy and unwanted segments. Problems occur, although not always,  when I add transitions, titles, menus and attempt to burn the project. I had a windows XP and Vista based desktop using older versions of Elements Premiere and had success, though I must admit I was editing video that was from Mini DV tapes. I bought this new iMac with the thought that it would out perform my Windows Based Desktops when it came to editing video. Any input would be appreciated..

Thanks Teddy