5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2008 12:22 PM by Newsgroup_User

Creating Time Delay

I am creating a multimedia CD ROM, and I have a simple flash animation that, once clicked, rotates on my director project to a new postion. The problem is, I want the user to be able to click this, have the animation play out (lasts less than half a second), then for the new frame to be loaded after the animation is complete.

I am fairly new to Director, so the only way I have been able to try is to have some lingo on the animation which directs to the frame in question, unfortunately though this does not give time for the animation to play out.

If that made any sense what-so-ever, I would much appreciate any help!

Cheers

Graeme
        • 1. Re: Creating Time Delay
          Level 7
          You can use some AS in the Flash file to tell Director when to navigate.
          If it's a frame based animation then you could place the AS on the last
          frame, if it's script-based then your AS must be able to detect when the
          animation is finished.
          // AS2:
          getURL("event:mNavigate()");

-- code attached to the flash sprite in Director:
          -- (assumes there is a frameScript to hold the playhead
          -- over the span of the Flash sprite)
          property _flashDone

on beginSprite me
          _flashDone = 0
          end

on mNavigate me
          _flashDone = 1
          end

on exitFrame me
          if _flashDone then go next
          end
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Creating Time Delay
            Level 7
            You can also monitor the number of frames in the Flash animation from Lingo
            and test for when the current frame is equal to the last then instruct your
            projector what to do when that event happens.

C

"graemekyuss" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
            news:fq7k0v$ajc$1@forums.macromedia.com...