1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 24, 2012 9:22 PM by gator soup

Color Management problems

kleodim83

Hello to all!

I have bought a new monitor lately, a Dell Ultrasharp U2410 and my very pleased with it but I have encountered some problems, mostly with sRGB and AbobeRGB color spaces.

I have calibrated my monitor correctly with Spyder3Elite (5800 - 120 - 2.2) and I'm using Europe Prepress 3 color profile in Photoshop and Illustrator as I am a graphic designer and I mostly work in CMYK color spaces.

This means that I use AbodeRGB and Coated Fogra 39 in the programs.

I begun having problems with RGB color space when I realised differences in images I was trying to export from Photoshop and Illustrator for Internet use ("save for web" menu) both in Firefox Broswer which I have calibrated too ("about:config" menu).

And I will give you and example:

I am using the  "Color Index 2" book very often for easily finding color tones both in RGB and CMYK. I have use it for finding and matching the colors for my id and website.

So I have selected a blue color tone #00adef which according to the book and my monitor is R:0 G:173 B:239. This is actually Cyan 100% accoriding to the book (my monitor reads 90% but no big deal there).

When I see the color tone though AdobeRGB color space in Photoshop and Illustrator, it looks very close to the book. When I see it though sRGB the difference is huge!

And let's say that this quite normal as AdobeRGB is a lot wider color space compairing to sRGB. And let's say that I have to get used to it as I use a wide gamut monitor now.

The real problem is this: No matter how I export my files for web ("save for web" menu) both in AdobeRGB, by checking Embeded ICC, and in sRGB, when I use "Print Screen" to take a color sample, the color values change!

So to sum up:

1. I know that it's different to have a wide gamut monitor but how "normal" is to see such huge difference in RGB color spaces?