6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2012 2:39 PM by Bob Dix Photographer

Dell computer for Premiere Pro

Pichal B

Hi,

I've been given a budget of 2000 euro to get myself a new computer for editing mainly hd 1070p native avchd AE & Premiere. We get a discount at work for -30% on dell computers so instead of building one i want looking for one on the dell site.

Reading other topics on this forum i noticed most people would not but a station with a quadro 4000 but get a gtx 6xx one instead.

I came up with this workstation

Dell™ Precision™ T3600 (Essential)

win7 64b

Intel® Xeon® E5-1620 processor (Quad Core, 3,6 GHz, 10 MB cache, to 1.600 MHz
      8 GB (4 x 2 GB) 1.600 MHz ECC RDIMM DDR3
      2 GB NVIDIA Quadro 4000
      2x 500 GB 3,5" Seriële ATA-hard drive (7.200 rpm)

635w base

Is this a decent build or em i better to get a other system or even get a Alienware instead that uses the gtx fxcards.

I'm a complete rookie at this so really have no idea what to get for this money.

• 1. Re: Dell computer for Premiere Pro
          Harm Millaard Level 7

You would need a better CPU, what Dell would call an octo core like the E5-26xx, more memory, at least 16 GB but preferably 32 GB, better disk setup, not two slow 500 GB disks with only 8 MB cache, a better video card like the GTX 660 Ti, not a three generations old, slow and overpriced Quadro 4000 card. At Dell you will be hard pressed to find anything in that budget range. Maybe if you increase the budget to € 5000+ can you find something halfway decent.

• 2. Re: Dell computer for Premiere Pro
            Bob Dix Photographer Level 2

Hi Pichal b ,