Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Event Handler not Working

New Here ,
Oct 23, 2012 Oct 23, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Salutations!

My College teacher was telling me about flash builder and how good it is for mobile applications. I've never done anything with actionscript before and had my first foray into such a few days ago. However I quickly ran into a problem. I've drawn a rectangle and are now wanting to try and use event handlers. For now I was wanting to say add the event handler for clicking on the rectangle. When done so then run a specifed function.

rectangle.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, RectClicked);

But even though there is nothing wrong anywhere in my application upon clicking the first rectangle, nothing happens. This is true for other mouse and keyboard events. My teacher said it may have something to do with having the student flash builder at College and currently having the trial here at home. It may not allow you to use certain functions.

Do I have to purchase flash builder first before being able to use certain functionality?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Oct 24, 2012 Oct 24, 2012

Hi Koopa,

Both the examples I uploaded work, so...

When you are in FlashBuilder, there are a number of different default options to run.

1. There is a "Debug" option

2. There is a "Run" option

3. There is a "Profile" option (may only be available in Pro versions)

The "Debug" option runs with traces included and connects to the debugger plugin in whatever browser you are using (provided you have _installed_ the debugger player http://www.adobe.com/support/flashplayer/downloads.html ). THIS IS THE OPTIO

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,
Oct 24, 2012 Oct 24, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied