11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2012 7:42 AM by Fuzzy Barsik

What format do I use for upcoming program?

fullhead Level 1

I've been editing in SD now for 35 years and have finally made the switch to HD (it's about time!) I bought a new Sony camera and shot a program in XDCAM. I need to add some footage from an existing commercial. What format should I ask the ad agency to send me. I've been editing in CS5 for some time and am trying out CS6 and plan to buy that over the next couple days. To be honest with you, I don't even know what the native Premiere HD format is. I'm a good editor, just technically stunted.

• 1. Re: What format do I use for upcoming program?
          SAFEHARBOR11 Most Valuable Participant

Assuming you're on the PC, then the .avi file format is the most common to Premiere, though it will also edit .mov and others and in fact is quite flexible at accepting just about anything and editing it natively. That said, many formats are for "delivery" and are therefore highly compressed and not good choices for re-editing.

If the agency uses Macs, then Apple ProRes 422 will provide an excellent quality video file to rework. Note that CS5 had a bug in that files with 4-channel audio are unsupported, but ProRes with stereo will work fine. This was fixed in CS5.5 and newer.

You should ask the agency what they normally provide and then we can see if that sounds usable

Thanks

Jeff Pulera

Safe Harbor Computers

• 2. Re: What format do I use for upcoming program?
            Fuzzy Barsik Level 4
            I don't even know what the native Premiere HD format is

There is no such thing as PrPro native HD format.

PrPro works natively with any sort of footages in a non-destructive way.

See this help section on supported file formats.

And yes, PrPro is not free from some bugs (e.g. PrPro CS6 suffers from AVCHD spanned clips issue, which was not a case in CS5.5)

• 3. Re: What format do I use for upcoming program?
              fullhead Level 1