3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2012 1:43 PM by Zolotoj

Load a PDF and Print it Without User Seeing the PDF

ml_webmonk

I have a client who has a need to allow users via a web browser to print PDFs wihtout gaining direct access to them.  Ignoring all the flaws in this logic , I am new to Flex and am having difficulty determining if this is possible.  So, here are the details:

1) This is a web browser application.

2) The files reside on a server.

3) The user will view a list of available PDF files in their browser.

4) There will be a print icon next to each one.

5) When they click on the print icon we need to pull in the PDF from the server and initiate a print, all without the user seeing the PDF.  So once they click the print icon the next thing they see is thier browser's print dialog box.

I have 1-4 done, I just need help with the most important one, #5.

So, can Flex (without AIR) load a PDF in without displaying it and print it?

I am using Flash Builder 4.6, if it matters.

Thanks in advance for any input.

• 1. Re: Load a PDF and Print it Without User Seeing the PDF
          Zolotoj Level 3

Well, that's going to be difficult. Before everything else, a silent printing in general, is not what Browser is all about. A print dialog is thrown by the browser when a user selects a print option. Same thing if an application is trying to print using built into it conventional methods of printing - you get Print dialog. It gets even harder if you want to print PDF files silently. You will need to make sure that a file is available to print in case it's generated on the fly. The following code will print your PDF without dialogs to a selected (var printer) printer:

var WshShell = new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell");

var fs = new ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject");

var fi = "AcroRd32.exe /N /T " + '"c:\\temp\\' + "filename" + '" ' + printer;

WshShell.Run(fi, 0, false);