12 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2012 7:43 AM by josephs51576386

How to efficiently separate audio track

philip242

I'm new to Premier Pro and to video editing in general. 

I have a single camera interview, audio from on-board mic.  The questions are all too loud and the answers too soft.

I started keyframing the volume but this seems tedious and error prone.  I'd have to be careful to lower or boost each section by the same amount.  I'm thinking if I split out all the questions onto a separate track, I could adjust each track's volume in one feel swoop.

The way I'm doing this is:

1) Select Audio 1 only

2) Mark In/Out points

3) Lift

4) Unselect Audio 1, Select Audio 2

5) CTRL-V

6) Drag pasted clip to align it into the hole

I'm wondering if there is a faster way?  Seems like I'd like to mark In/Out then just drag the portion of the clip down to Audio 2, keeping it aligned to the same point in time,  is something like this possible?  Or just a way to streamline my steps? 

Thanks.  Just getting started so any pointers welcome.

• 1. Re: How to efficiently separate audio track
          josephs51576386 Level 3

Is the audio stereo? Also is one person in the left side and another person in the right side? If one person is left and the other right you can simply copy and paste the audio and put the exact same track on 1 and 2 then pan one to the left and the other to the right. Then turn down the one that is too loud and add gain to the one that is too quite until you get the desired volume levels. If adding gain adds a lot of "hissing" usually a denioser will help remove this a bit. If the background noise of AC or cars passing becomes louder or any deeper tones you can use a highpass and set it to around 140 if needed. Although it will take the lows out of the persons voice so it's best to avoid using it if possible.