3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 25, 2012 9:23 AM by Mylenium

Using Camera Lens Blur Filter / Mask

millerjs68 Level 1

I have a question concerning the lens blur and I hoping someone can point me to a good tutorial.

I have several interview segments and I would like to do a small digital zoom at the end of each clip. The background is slightly out of focus already and it doesn't look natural to zoom when the bokeh is not changing.

I have a good handle on the filter but I am not that experienced with advanced mattes. I need to learn how to get the matte on the person and stay during the zoom so I can manipulate the background. The subjects are seated on a stool so their is very little movement.

Did some searches but I am probably not searching the right keywords. Can anyone point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Using Camera Lens Blur Filter / Mask
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Not sure why you would actually want to fiddle with mattes beyond your primary keying/ mask. Any DOF is an illsuion in such a scenario and best controlled by using separate effects on ther layers involved. If you have a particular reason why you want to use Lensblur with an input buffer, perhaps a screenshot might help to explain...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Using Camera Lens Blur Filter / Mask
            millerjs68 Level 1

I am not sure how to separate the layers.

I have a subject in the foreground that I need to isolate into a separate layer and I am not sure how to do that considering the person is moving.

I am not using the right terminology In video land we used to call it a traveling matte.

I can't post the a pict because it is not my material. Will look for something similiar.

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Using Camera Lens Blur Filter / Mask
              Mylenium Most Valuable Participant