5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2008 1:28 PM by abeall

Blurring edges of .JPG image ?

FredZimmerman
      How do I take .JPG photo image mask it, and blur the edges?

It is a rectangular photographic image that I want to create a central oval in focus, and "ovalize" the
      rest of the rectangle outside central focused picture, and blur the outer band of the rectangle.

I'm a newbie if you couldn't tell.

Fred Z.
        • 1. Re: Blurring edges of .JPG image ?
          abeall Level 3
          There are a bunch of ways you could do this in Fireworks, but I think the easiest and most flexible would be to use a vector ellipse, with a feathered edge, as a mask on the bitmap.

1) Open the JPG in Fireworks
          2) Use the Ellipse tool to draw an ellipse inside your image. Keep ellipse small enough so that the edge of the ellipse is far enough away from the edge of the image for the feathering.
          3) In the properties panel, make sure the ellipse is white
          4) In the properties panel, look for the "Edge" dropdown and change it to "Feather"
          5) You can set the Feather amount.
          6) Select both objects (the original bitmap image, and the vector ellipse) and choose Modify > Mask > Group as Mask

At this point you should have a nice feathered, elliptical mask to your original image. You can change the background color to match your website background color (select nothing, then look in the Properties panel to choose background color).