9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2014 6:18 AM by Rick Gerard

Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent

Thongrrrl14

We have some footage of a gent standing in front of a green screen, which was lit by a pro.

I used Keylight in AE to superimpose the man over some stock footage.

The edges don't look bad, but the man is wearing a dark suit, which has a lot of noise in it. How can I minimize this? (Reshooting is not an option.)

Since I am a novice, I am including a screen shot, which includes my Keylight settings.

The below still doesn't look completely horrible, but during playback, the noise is obvious and distracting.

Screen shot 2012-10-29 at 4.38.06 PM.png

• 1. Re: Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent
          Navarro Parker Level 3

Do you have Premiere Pro CS6? You might have better results keying your footage with Premiere's Ultra Keyer. It can do really clean keys, with far less fiddling than Keylight requires.

Key your footage in Premiere, then import that project into AE with Dynamic Link.

If you want to stick with Keylight, I gave a couple tips over at this thread: http://forums.adobe.com/message/4185032

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If your edges are noisy then you don't have the settings right. Keylight can pull great keys if you know how to use it. Try searching for Keylight tutorials. There are a bunch of good ones.

If you still can't pull a good edge then your footage is probably full of compression artifacts. Some footage is just hard to key because of the color space and the compression.

• 3. Re: Keylight Green Screen - Noise on Talent
              BenjaminMarkus Level 4

One way to solve this is by first creating an interior mask...

Interior_Mask.png