7 Replies Latest reply: Oct 30, 2012 4:09 PM by BenjaminMarkus RSS

Which version of Photoshop should I buy?

megmregan

Hi - I am purchasing photoshop for first time and would like recommendations on which version to buy - I am a student

Also - will be upgrading my MAC pro to an IMac next year - can I use any downloaded software on that also or should I wait and download on IMac only??

• 1. Re: New to Photoshop!
          sudarshan.t MVP

You can get Educational Licenses from the Adobe Education Store here: http://www.adobe.com/education.edu.html?showEduReq=no

For product comparison of what different versions of Photoshop families can do to find your best fit, visit here: http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/buying-guide.edu.html

Also - will be upgrading my MAC pro to an IMac next year - can I use any downloaded software on that also or should I wait and download on IMac only??

You can purchase/ install on your Mac Pro now. Later, migrate the license to your new iMac.

With 1 license, you're eligible to install Photoshop on upto 2 computers, as long as you don't run them both at the same time - i.e - one home laptop and one home desktop (personal use only).

• 2. Re: New to Photoshop!
            charles badland Community Member

A Mac version of PS will run on either machine. You just need to uninstall if you are selling the Mac Pro.

AFAIK there is only one choice of student/teacher edition Photoshop: Photoshop Extended.

A better $ deal is to purchase the CS6 suite, but keep in mind when you upgrade the suite in the future, you have to upgrade the entire suite, you can't cherry-pick apps to upgrade.

The are different  versions of the CS6 suite, a recommendation would depend on what your interests are.

• 3. Re: New to Photoshop!
              sudarshan.t MVP

AFAIK there is only one choice of student/teacher edition Photoshop: Photoshop Extended.

Not really. Photoshop Elements are also available under Educational Licenses.

• 4. Re: New to Photoshop!