11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2018 4:48 PM by stib_at_work

AE using socket to import picture from URL - Need Your Help

videocp Level 1

I have a project that works with local network using the path name. I want to update the project to replace all placeholders with a picture located at a URL address instead of the local network. I have no experience with socket coding and can't seem to find the right snippets of code on the internet to get me through this point of using URL as a file location.

I tried this code (using a picture at this URL as an example);

webConnect= new Socket;

if(webConnect.open("http://distilleryimage3.s3.amazonaws.com")) {

webConnect.write('GET /2940b7e0236511e2af9022000a1f9a23_7.jpg HTTP/1.0nn');

response=  webConnect.read();

webConnect.close();

alert('complete');

} else {

alert('fail');

}

Any help will be appreciated. I need the results of the socket connection to be a object I can use in the statement

curItem.replace(new File( <picture path> );

Thanks again.

• 1. Re: AE using socket to import picture from URL - Need Your Help
          chauffeurdevan Level 2

Just looked in the adobe javascript documentation and you should not put the http:// and you should put the http port number 80 at the end. So the connection should be "distilleryimage3.s3.amazonaws.com:80".

At the GET, make sure you have slashes before both "n".

• 2. Re: AE using socket to import picture from URL - Need Your Help
            videocp Level 1

Thanks, that was most helpful. At least I'm getting a response from the server. Working on the idea of image buckets and such. Some trial and error and more reading I was able to get this socket response; This was response from

webConnect.write('GET /distilleryimage5/17bdfa64237411e2a23c22000a1f9d66_7.jpg HTTP/1.0\n\n');