16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2012 2:14 PM by yoerez

New to Editing, what to buy?

yoerez Level 1

Hey guys,

I'm very new to the editing game and just finished editing my first home video with Adobe Premiere CS6. I have another video to edit now that is full of high resolution 1080p clips taken from both a DSLR and a RED EPIC, those clips take FOREVER to render on my machine, even though my machine is pretty powerful (8GB of DDR3, Core i7, 2 Velociraptur drives in RAID0).

Is there a card/interface I can add to my computer to make rendering and maybe even playback without rendering go smoothly? I don't really need a capture card since all the video I use is already in files and I just read it off SD cards.

Any recommendations?

• 1. Re: New to Editing, what to buy?
          JFPhoton Level 3

...a more complete description of your current machine would help.....which i7....what GPU, (video card)......layout of your current disk drives,etc.       Also, what do you mean by "rendering"?....do you mean rendering previews to make the timeline run smoothly,or, EXPORTING to a finished codec?

• 2. Re: New to Editing, what to buy?
            yoerez Level 1

Sorry about that, here's a little more info about my system:

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz

8GB DDR3 RAM, Motherboard: ASRock X58 Extreme

Nvidia Geforce GTX560 Graphic Card, 2 x 320GB Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB each - 10,000RPM at RAID0

And no, I don't care about exporting to finish codec, I understand that takes time. I'm talking about while you're working. You know, if I add a transition effect, I always have to push ENTER for it to render the red otherwise if I try to play it it will show nothing at that point.

• 3. Re: New to Editing, what to buy?
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Time to get a new system what that kind of material. No sense in investing $$$ into this system.

See Adobe Forums: What PC to build? An update... and http://ppbm7.com/index.php/intro-part-1