6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2012 4:49 PM by Kevin-Monahan

Encoding for Premiere in Windows from Mac FCP

Video Monkey

Hi,

I'm a Final Cut Pro user.  I have a client who sent us a drive with the complaint that "they can't read or copy the files" onto their Windows computer with Premiere CS6 installed.  The problem as I see it is twofold:  one, it's a Mac-formatted drive; and two, the files are Quicktime ProRes and XDCam-EX videos.  These came from a third-party shooter, BTW.

I'm trying to find an easy solution that will let me return the drive to the client as something they can plug in and work with.  I figure I'll pull the files off, reformat the drive as NTFS, and dump back.  Here's the thing:  I understand that it's possible to edit in ProRes and in XDCam-EX in Premiere, in Windows...but I have little confidence that the client will be able to figure out how to do it.  I can convert these files  - just need to know what to convert to, to make it easy.  They are 1080i at 29.97 fps.   What's a good format that lets a Premiere user basically plug-and-edit...?  Or am I off-base, and it will be easy for my client to grab and use these files?

Any help appreciated!

Thanks,

Jesse

Jesse Achtenberg

Camera / Editing / Graphic Design

627 Quebec Pl NW

Washington, DC 20010

202-215-0137

www.tornadoproductions.tv

• 1. Re: Encoding for Premiere in Windows from Mac FCP
          ExactImage Level 3

To easily move HDDs between Windows and Mac, use ExFat instead of NTFS.  It's supported by both OSs and can use large files (unlike FAT32).

Installing the ProRes codec (read only) on Windows is trivial.  Install Quicktime and you are done.  However, lots ofpeople here will pour scorn on using *anything* encoded in a Quicktime wrapper because it's (currently) a 32 bit platform so is perhaps not running as fast as the native 64 bit codecs.