7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2008 1:15 PM by clbeech

Link to new webpage from SWF file

BrantL
      Created a screen for our company intranet site utilizing an SWF file. When the movie completes its animation, I want users to be able to click on it and reach another website. The SWF plays fine but there is no link. I am new to this but eager to learn. Thanks for any help. Here's the latest ActionScript 2.0 code I tried:
        • 1. Re: Link to new webpage from SWF file
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant
          The code that you show is correct. What do you mean by "there is no link"? Are saying that the object that's clicked on does not open the new url?
          • 2. Re: Link to new webpage from SWF file
            BrantL Level 1
            Exactly. I am placing the SWF file into Dreamweaver as a piece of a bigger web page. When I place the cursor over the SWF in preview, it will change from a pointer to a hand for about one second but it does not open anything on a click. Thanks again for the info.
            • 3. Re: Link to new webpage from SWF file
              clbeech Level 3
              ahhh.... sounds like the 'button' doesn't extend over the whole duration of the timeline. Make sure that it is present throughout with out any 'keyframes' by extending the frames of the 'layer' it's on.
              • 4. Re: Link to new webpage from SWF file
                BrantL Level 1
                Let me apologize in advance for being such a beginner. clbeech, can you give me more info on extending the button on the timeline? I tried selecting the entire timeline but could not add actionscript to that. Also tried creating a second symbol (a button) in a seperate layer but it did not work. Is there an easy answer for applying my getURL script to my entire SWF file? Any help is appreciated.
                • 5. Re: Link to new webpage from SWF file
                  clbeech Level 3