6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2012 3:36 PM by the_wine_snob

scaling questions

davidorthfurniture

Hi, I'm pretty new to Premiere Elements, but have been using Photoshop for years.  I'm dragging along assumptions from Photoshop that somehow I'll be wildly free to scale as long the information is there to work with.  I'm finding that's not the case, so I'm humbly trying to understand what is possible without giving up my dreams too quickly.

Here's one of my issues.  I'm working with 2G of ram for the time being. Rendering and sharing seem to go better if I keep my resolutions on the low side - ok for the project I'm working on.  For now, I'm just trying to end up with a medium res DV of 720 x 480.  I've started a project and forced the settings.  Much of my media will be high res Photoshop images.  I'm having a blast panning and zooming and overlapping clips - on my way to what a friend calls the "Ken Burns effect" - nice way to work with stills.  It works well and exports nicely as a Flash file.

But now I'd like to bring in some video taken in a HDV high res format.  I have brought it in through "interprete footage/square pixels" and I have the scale "set to frame size".  But is there any proceedure I might use to get my aspect ratio back and either crop it or have some black bars on the side - I'd prefer the cropping to the bars usually.  What am I missing here?  I've read several places that my media settings HAVE to match my project settings.  But then I've made some headway with the "interprete" and "scale to frame size".  So I'm wondering if there are work arounds or perfect solutions.

I looked for an existing discussion, but didn't see one.  Sorry if I've asked question answered somewhere else - just point me to it.  Also, I'm using PrE11 and Windows7.

David Orth

• 1. Re: scaling questions
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Before you have crashes with large pictures, read...