6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2012 8:15 AM by jkosti

Looping background animations

jkosti Level 1

Hello Everyone !

I am new to flash catalyst.

I have built a user interface for my application.

What i want is to add animation in the background which plays continuously from start till end of application.

Can i add animation from after effects or flash professional?

But the main thing that i want is to play the animation endlessly in a loop.

Any help would be appreciated. I am stuck here so a rapid response is urgently required.

Thanks.

P.S. Any information about creating a "EXIT" button in catalyst also appreciated. The window should close after pressing the EXIT button.

• 1. Re: Looping background animations
          Chris W. Griffith Adobe Community Professional

The best solution would be to create the animation in Flash Professional and add it to your Flash Catalyst project.

Is the project going to be within a web page or a stand alone application? Each require a different solution.

For the web page, you will need to use the Flex Javascipt bridge, to make a call to the javascript that you also have to add. This interaction is consider bad practice from a user experience point of view

For the stand alone application, you will need to add some custom ActionScript to quit the application. This can be added by using Flash Builder 4.5. Note: version 4.6 and 4.7 do not support Flash Catalyst projects properly.

Chris Griffith

• 2. Re: Looping background animations
            jkosti Level 1

Hello,

Thanks for replying !

I am building a standalone application.

I tried importing the animation created in flash professional into flash catalyst.

Flash catalyst has only one property, "On Application Start". There is nothing to play it endlessly.