5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2012 10:54 AM by Colin-B

Time and GPS data windows

TLL... Level 3

Hello all

I was presented this sample 1080 frame and was asked if I can do this if time and GPS metadata were part of the video recording. In other words, how do you burn in this data in the video itself. I have P Pro CS 6 @ home and am a complete novice to video editing. Final product may or may not need this, more curious as to how its done - special camera system or in post processing?

1.jpg

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Time and GPS data windows
          Jim_Simon Level 8

There's no automatic way to add that information.  You'd have to add titles manually.

• 2. Re: Time and GPS data windows
            TLL... Level 3

"You'd have to add titles manually."

Any idea how?

• 3. Re: Time and GPS data windows
              zachmull Level 1

If whoever shot the video recorded time of day timecode synced from a GPS receiver that was close to the camera (in your case that looks like it would mean mounted in the helicopter), you can use the time code data to match your GPS metadata to the video. I use an automated process to incorporate the the metadata into the video, but the process is all done with custom software that the CEO of our company wrote. The other people I've seen incorporating GPS metadata into video are also using customized, proprietary processes. If you're adding the data in post, you will have to translate the data into Premiere titles or After Effects text keyframes or something else that you can overlay on the video.