33 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 11:31 AM by kglad

Question concerning clicking object behind a mask effect

Fayze93

First of all, sorry for the indescriptive title, couldn't really think of something.

Okay, so I want an effect done for my Flash project. Basically I have a black background and a simple mask effect that follows the mouse, so you move the mouse and it shows you the layer behind the black background.. The script looks like this:

color_mc.mask = mask_mc;

mask_mc.cacheAsBitmap = true;

color_mc.cacheAsBitmap = true;

mask_mc.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, moveMask);

function moveMask(e:Event):void

{

mask_mc.x = mouseX;

mask_mc.y = mouseY;

}

And this works fine, but it's not all I intend to do. In short, the user has to move the mask using the mouse and find several colored objects hidden behind it (this works fine), then I want to make all the object clickable and I want the object to change shapes when they're clicked on. I'm pretty new at Flash, but I've fiddled around with it and couldn't come up with a solution that worked.

I have tried labelling different frames on the timeline; "color1", "color2", and then doing a

color_mc.color1.buttonMode=true

color_mc.color1.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, COLOR1);

function COLOR1 (e:MouseEvent) {

gotoAndPlay("color1");

}

This then goes to that frame, but it's probably not the right way to do it, because the mask effect doesn't work anymore (I even tried copying the action script to the "color1" frame), plus I think if you'd clicked the "color1" object first and then the "color2" object after

I think it'd reverse the "color1" action (but I'm not sure)

*note* color_mc is the background with the objects on it that I want clickable and the objects are called "color1", "color2" etc.

Oh and one more thing, I also want it to recognize when all the objects are clicked and then move to a new frame/scene.