6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2006 9:38 AM by mxc

How can you make flash create file or export text

ShaneFred
      I need to produce a button that will create a file of any type when it is clicked. It can be an empty .txt file or any other type of file. I am using a flash intro to another program and when this exported .txt file is seen, the program will know to skip the intro. I have no idea how to do this. I am new to flash and I know some actionscript, but nothing that complicated. Thanks!
        • 1. Re: How can you make flash create file or export text
          Level 7
          ShaneFred,

> I need to produce a button that will create a file of any
          > type when it is clicked.

This cannot be done with Flash alone.

Assuming this is not a web presentation -- that is, assuming this Flash
          content runs on the user's hard drive -- you could try one of the many 3rd
          party Projector warppers, such as Jugglor or ZINC. Those (and others) allow
          you to create files, access folders, etc.

Flash simply wasn't designed to accommodate what you're after.

David
          stiller (at) quip (dot) net
          Dev essays: http://www.quip.net/blog/
          "Luck is the residue of good design."

• 2. Re: How can you make flash create file or export text
            mxc Level 1
            I think more specifics are needed before I say that Flash cannot do as you wish ;)
            There may be another way to achieve your goal.
            What other program is Flash the intro to? Why generate a file and why of "any type"?

The most usual way to set a skip intro would be to set a flag if the user has been there before. Depending on the application the flag info would be stored in the appropriate way feks as a shared local object

best regards
            Michael
            • 3. Re: How can you make flash create file or export text
              ShaneFred Level 1