4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 10:22 AM by emil emil

Shape layer questions

b_electro

I’m a web designer that’s used to using Illustrator for all my work. Recently many of my new jobs want me to work in Photoshop, so I’m getting back up to speed with it. I have a  few nagging issues that I haven’t been able to figure out:

1. With the direct selection tool, how do I select a small shape that’s overlapping a larger shape? For example, a small line on top of a large rectangle. When I try to do this Photoshop automatically makes me select the larger shape in the background. I have to zoom in super close and individually shift-select each corner of the smaller shape before I can move/transform/whatever it. This gets tedious and slow real fast!
      2. Recently in a document I’m working in, whenver I make a new shape it automatically adds a bunch of layer styles like drop shadow, stroke, etc. These styles aren’t turned on, but it adds unecessary styles to my layers and my client is very strict about recieving only super clean .psd’s.
      3. How do I make a line that is truly 1px stoke width? My lines seem to always start out as fuzzy 2px worms until I zoom in and surgically make them 1px. Again, what a waste of time! is there some sort of antialiasing setting that I need to turn off?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Shape layer questions
          b_electro Level 1

Just found the answer to #3: Turn on snap to pixels.

• 2. Re: Shape layer questions
            conroy Level 5

1. When Direct Selection Tool is active, Cmd-click it on a path to switch to Path Selection Tool with which you can drag the entire path or select the path for a transform. Another Cmd-click will switch back to Direct SelectionTool.

2. Maybe you are you drawing shape paths inside an already existing Shape layer which has the Layer Style, or creating new Shape layers inside a Group layer which has the unwanted Layer Style.