16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2012 12:14 PM by MSpears75

Problem with loadVariablesNum on IIS 7

MSpears75

[moved from AS3 forum to AS1/2 forum]

First, I should note, I'm a CF developer, not a Flash developer, but unfortunately I am in a time crunch and don't have access to a flash person right now. So I apologize if I might use the wrong terms here. 

We've recently purchased a new web server due to needing some upgrades. We were running ColdFusion 9 with IIS6 and our Flash applications were running great on it for several years. We've moved everything over to our new server and the only difference I can see is that we are now on Windows 2008 server with IIS 7. Still on ColdFusion 9.

For some reason, in all of our flash applications we can't get dynamic data to be displayed from a database from the CF pages. However, it is only affecting the new server, the exact same code works great on the old server. You'll notice we have it pulling a txt file for our testing purposes but when we want the real thing we pull from the CFM file. Pulling the text file displays the questions without issue, but using the post with cfm file, we get nothing, just a blank spot in the Flash movie. The ReadQuestions.cfm is a simple CF page that queries a database and sends back a chunk of data to be displayed and like I said, works fine on the old machine.

Is there something in IIS I am missing to make this work in IIS 7 versus IIS 6? It appears the post values just aren't being sent. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The code we are using is this:

if (_level0.currentMod != _level0.kcMod) {

_level0.quizType = 2;

_level0.questionLoading = 1;

if (_level0.debugLocal == 1) {

loadVariablesNum("questionsQuiz.txt", 0);

} else {

loadVariablesNum("ReadQuestions.cfm", 0, "Post");

}

} else {

_level0.quizType = 3;

_level0.questionLoading = 1;

if (_level0.debugLocal == 1) {

loadVariablesNum("questionsKC.txt", 0);

} else {

loadVariablesNum("ReadQuestions.cfm", 0, "Post");