5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2012 8:30 AM by the_wine_snob

Why do audio files-from pasted or imported clips- fail & change to brown when I reopen a project?

Sean Lindsay Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to Premiere as a whole and have been having difficulty moving clips from one project to another. When I cut and paste and when I use the Import tool to import a project or timeline, everything appears normal until I close and reopen the project. When I do that, the audio files from any clips transferred this way are missing; they are now brown rather than the default blue on the timeline and while their path is available, the audio peaks are completely flat.

This is a very troubling error, because you can do a lot of work after importing these clips only to start up Premiere the next day and find that your audio is missing. All of the video from the imported or pasted clips is there, so why can't it sort out the audio?

Most of these audio files are .mts AVCHD files from a Sony FS100, but recently this error also happened to a clip I edited in Audition, so this isn't just a problem Premiere has syncing up AVCHD audio.

I'm using Premiere CS6 6.0.3 on Windows 7 Professional.

Thank you for any support you can provide.

• 1. Re: Why do audio files-from pasted or imported clips- fail & change to brown when I reopen a project?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Sean,

For many versions of PrPro, the Copy/Paste can fritz up the Audio. Usually, it will work fine, though not always.

When it does not, the normal suggestion is to Select the faulting Clip, place the CTI/Play Head over it, and use Match Frame. That normally returns the Audio to the state it was in, at the Copy operation.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Why do audio files-from pasted or imported clips- fail & change to brown when I reopen a project?
            Sean Lindsay Level 1