15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2013 8:38 PM by AhMei99

z-index / overlapping animations

edgedesign

Edge Animation newbie here...

Trying to figure out the best way to handle overlapping symbols that expand on rollOver. Here's my sample: http://beta.edgedesign.net/color_meanings/

Row 2 won't animate because the symbols are on a lower level than the symbols on row 1. Moving row 2 symbols a level above row 1 will obstruct the view of row 1 dropdowns.

I tried animating the visability of the dropdown panel and text box within the symbols, but that didn't seem to work. I also played around with clipping path and the symbol stage size, but got nowhere.

Can this be solved within Edge Animation or does it require additional coding?

• 1. Re: z-index / overlapping animations
          TimJaramillo Level 4

Hi edgedesign,

The display "off" and "on" props have to be applied to the parent symbol, they don't seem to work as expected on nested symbols.

In this case, the jQuery hide() and show() methods will come to your rescue.

You'll basically want to start by running hide() on all the nested panels, so all buttons will be accessible. Then on mouseenter (or rollover), run show() on the corresponding button. Then at the end of the rollout animation, you'll want to call hide() on the corresponding button again.

Let me know if you need help implementing these methods.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: z-index / overlapping animations
            edgedesign Level 1

Hey Tim,

I get the gist of what you are saying, just not exactly sure how/where to implement.

Here's how my file is set up:

• Each animated panel is a symbol containing a transparent hit element over the color swatch.
            • mouseover and mouseout code is attached to the hit element and these send the playhead to labels on the timeline within. sym.play("show"); & sym.play("hide");
            • There is a stop trigger on frame 1: sym.stop();

Here's what I tried: