12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2012 4:02 PM by John T Smith

Would a 2nd Hard Drive help with my render times?

Geldy7

This week I upgraded my system (comparison between old specs and new specs listed below).  The old system had very long render times and playback while editing was very choppy in both Camtasia 8 and Premiere Pro CS6.  The new system has been performing MUCH better than the old system in most areas (render times 2-3 times faster in both Camtasia and Premiere) but the video playback while editing in Premiere is still not as smooth as I would like it (although still better than before).

I purchased a WD Black WD1002FAEX - hard drive - 1 TB - SATA-600 from CDW (upon recommendation from another forum I posted) but don't want to install it if I won't get a noticable improvement in render times and playback quality while editing. (it was $100 out of my pocket that I would get returned if I don't use it)

Since I'm new to this field I was hoping for some feedback from those that are much more familiar with this stuff.

Thanks!

Andrew

New System

HP Elite 8000 Convertible Mini-Tower

i7-3770

16gb ram w/ dual channel memory configuration

Quadro 2000d

1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM SATA 6.0GB Hard Drive

Old System

HP Elite 4000 Pro Small Form Factor

Intel Dual Core

8gb ram single channel memory configuration

NVS 300

500 GB Hard Drive (not sure on make/model)

• 1. Re: Would a 2nd Hard Drive help with my render times?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Two disks is the minimum requirement, more it better.

Where would you prefer driving, on a single lane street with traffic lights to allow traffic in one direction and stopping traffic from the other direction or on a four lane highway? What do you think will have less traffic jams?

• 2. Re: Would a 2nd Hard Drive help with my render times?
            Geldy7 Level 1

Hi Harm,

As always - you have great analogies.