11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2012 1:37 PM by mbrjazz

Lenovo W530 on a sailboat  - Video and HDD options

Cwitzgall

Hi all,

We are on a sailboat, and I am an ex-video producer in the corporate world. I would like to start creating videos during our adventures. They will be web videos, but hopefully mostly HD. My camera decisions are not made yet, but I imagine I would try a GoPRo3 for the wet stuff, and then perhaps a Nikon DSLR (have many lenses) or maybe a m43 camera.

I would like to purchase a W530 for editing with PP. I am having a hard time finding information that will help me make the best decision on hard drive and video options. The laptop might be used connected to a 23" LED TV, I am thinking timeline and tools etc on TV, video on the laptop monitor.

#1. The W530 can be populated with a MSATA running at SATA II speeds. It looks like it can either be used as a caching drive, or system drive. Two more drives can be installed running SATA III, as well as I could use external drives with USB. So, knowing that power is always an option (cannot just run as many 3.5" external drives as I want), what would your HDD setup be? I was thinking that a 128gb MSATA as system drive, a 320gb cache and paging drive, and a 1tb video drive? Or should I just get a 256gb system drive at SATA III  and the 1tb Video drive, forgeting about the msata?

#2 Can anyone quantify the difference I would experience within PP, betwen the two video card options, the K1000m and the K2000m, both have 2gb? I am just wondering if the additional cost is worth it?

Thanks in advance,
      Chris

• 1. Re: Lenovo W530 on a sailboat  - Video and HDD options
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1st, go to the CS5 Benchmark http://ppbm5.com/ and see if there are any laptops, and view their performance rankings

2nd, some general laptop notes

Laptop Video Editing PC http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1069742

-and http://forums.adobe.com/message/4578948