11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2012 2:01 AM by Laubender

Not understanding why i am getting white lines in PDF And JPG

Bernebeer Level 1

Hi all,

First time poster here, many thanks for your help! I have been using the Adobe creative suite for a couple of years now and have recently started using Indesign more and more, loving it.

Recently I ran into a spot of trouble and can't figure it out. I made a document using text boxes, an image, a few placed EPS files on a dark grey background (rectangle with a fill). All colors used are process colors, the EPS files are in process aswell, done in Illustrator. Somehow my red (process 15 100 90 10) text and EPS lineart is getting a weird whitish outline when exporting to PDF and when exporting to JPG. I know about the white line bug/thing in PDF but didn't think this would show up in a JPG... Here are two screendumps of the PDF and the JPG:

PDF

http://postimage.org/image/tsu5i293r/

JPG

http://postimage.org/image/60tdmw275/

Anyone any ideas why Indesign is doing this, again, any help is much much appreciated.

Cheers,

Fred, running Indesign CS 5.5 7.1.3 and illustrator CS5 15.1.0

• 1. Re: Not understanding why i am getting white lines in PDF And JPG
          Youri Penders Level 1

Hi Fred,

Do those white lines appear when you view the documents (JPG and PDF) at 100%?

If not, I would not worry too much about it.

• 2. Re: Not understanding why i am getting white lines in PDF And JPG
            Bernebeer Level 1

hi Youri,

Thanks for your quick reply. Yes, that's the weird thing, they show up in PDF on 100% and in an exported JPG at 100%.

• 3. Re: Not understanding why i am getting white lines in PDF And JPG
              Youri Penders Level 1

And you made sure that the object / text has no line and the color is set to "none" (diagonal red line)?

Can you put the PDF online and share the link with us?

• 4. Re: Not understanding why i am getting white lines in PDF And JPG