1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 3, 2008 6:11 AM by blaike

iframe cache

Ahmettaha
      Hello,
      I'm very new to AIR, and I wonder if the following is possible. I have a website, and I want this website to be viewed with an AIR application. I can access the website via iframe, no problem. My goal is to store some data from the website to be viewed later by the user when they are offline. Like for example, in the news section. When the user is online, I want it to connect to the website and show the content. However, when the user is offline, I want it to show everything the same, and when user clicks on the page link for news, AIR should know it's offline, and show the locally stored data. Is this possible?

Or do I have to create a complete seperate user interface for AIR. I'm wondering if it's possible to use iframe when online, and load everything locally when offline.

Thanks,
      ahmet
        • 1. Re: iframe cache
          blaike
          There are many ways to approach this particular problem.. These are my takes on this.

First, I don't think you'll need to create a separate interface for the air application. You can use your current interface if you want, and I guess it would save you a lot of time on building a separate interface.

Since you'll be loading external content, you'll need to use two sandboxes: the main application sandbox and the non-application (iframe) sandbox--but I guess you already know that. You'll have to use these two separate (albeit connected) sandboxes to your advantage.