5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 8, 2013 3:28 PM by DianeLouise RSS

CS6 Cloud InDesign problem: Will not open from Windows

DianeLouise Community Member

I have a CS6 Cloud subscription. I cannot open InDesign files from Windows, which thinks they are pdfs, and I cannot reset this preference. Do I need to uninstall InDesign, use the CS Cleaner tool, and reinstall? If so can I do all that just for the InDesign product rather than the whole creative suite?

• 1. Re: CS6 Cloud InDesign problem: Will not open from Windows
          Ken G. Rice Adobe Employee

You should not need to uninstall InDesign or run the Adobe Cleaner Tool to fix this.

Steps to resolve this:

1. Open Default Programs in the Control Panel - Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Default Programs\.
          2. Select Associate a file type or protocol with a program.
          3. Wait for the list of file types to load. You will see a Loading... message.
          4. Scroll down in the Name column to .indd. The Description should be InDesign Document and you want to set the Current Default to be Adobe InDesign CS6.
          5. Click on the Change program button in the top right and select Adobe InDesign CS6.

indesign_associatoin.png

• 2. Re: CS6 Cloud InDesign problem: Will not open from Windows

Ken

Thank you. I do appreciate your response, but, unfortunately, that approach, which should work, as you say, does not.

The .indd is described on my compuer as an Adobe Acrobat Document and the current default is Adobe Acrobat, so whenever I click on any .indd document in Windows Explorer, Acrobat is instructed to open it which, of course, it cannot.

Changing the file association should work in the way you describe, but instead here is what happens: