10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 10:37 AM by CadenceDVE

Upgrade i5-650 to i7-875 or wait for Ivy Bridge-E to be released?

CadenceDVE

So, when I originally purchased my current motherboard, my upgrade path was from my i5-650, which is pretty slow, to an i7. I've been waiting for a while for the prices to drop on the i7-875, but they still remain at the $350 to $400 (US) level. I like the i7-875 because it's unlocked. I have a Noctura C12P cooler, so I was originally planning to purchase an unlocked i7 and overclock it quite a bit. Sadly my i5-650 does not have an unlocked multiplier. I knew that when I bought it but at the time I was expecting to be able to upgrade the processor within a year. I've not yet done so as before I was a very novist editor -- now I'm more at an intermediate level and my slow processor has really begun to bother me.

However, now I'm thinking that it would be best to wait for the Ivy Bridge-E, which from what I've read so far, should be a full 8-core processor. Doing so will allow me to take advantage of quad-channel memory (my i5 only supports dual channel), a better CPU socket like the 2011, a lot larger memory cache on the CPU die itself, and of course the 8 cores which will be 4 times the physical cores I have now. I will also be able to upgrade my motherboard if I go with a new processor, which would be nice as my EVGA P55 LE limits me to only 16 gigs of memory, 4x4 gigs. When I built my rig two years ago, 16 gigs seemed like enough. Now I know I need 32 or perhaps 64, so I'd like a motherboard that offers 8 DIMM slots -- mine only has four.

I will have to wait about a year or so, depending on when Intel finally releases Ivy Bridge-E, but I'm OK with that if it means a significant improvement in my render times. Now that I'm loading up individual clips with lots of effects, color correction, etc... I'm seeing much more red in my timeline, and I'm getting tired of waiting for previews to render so I can get back to work.