11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2012 3:54 PM by Alexbie

Help setting up AE & PremPro CS6 on iMAC

Alexbie Level 1

Hi there.  I am new to setting up AE and Premiere Pro on my system and I would like a recommendation on setting them up on recently purchased iMAC to run CS6 After Effects and Premiere Pro.  Specs on MAC are:  3.4Ghz Quad Core Intel i7 I7-2600 processor (2 threads per core) with a dedicated 256k level 2 cache for each core and 8MB shared level 3 cache.  Direct Media Interface in lieu of a system bus, , 2TB SATA HDD @ 7200RPM where OS 10.8.2 and applications are currently installed, AMD Radeon HD 6970M w/ 2GB dedicated GDDR5 memory. 2 Thunderbolt ports. 

Question is, for best performance, do I run my OS & CS6 applications (and all other applications) on an external ELGATO SSD 120GB Thunderbolt, and reformat the internal 2TB HDD 7200 RPM as my SCRATCH DISK?  And then use a separate external  1TB Seagate HDD 7200 Thunderbolt to store/work with all my media?  Would this setup be stable for the apps and OS?  Would it be the most efficient for renders and 3D processing? 

In addition, for the SCRATCH DRIVE (sorry, this is a separate question, sort of), do I redirect BOTH the After Effect Disk Cache AND the After Effects CONFORMED MEDIA CACHE to the scratch drive, or do I leave the CONFORMED MEDIA CACHE in the default location on the running OS & apps disk (wherever I configure that internal or external)? 

Many thanks for your help!

• 1. Re: Help setting up AE & PremPro CS6 on iMAC
          Jeff A Wright Adobe Employee

I have moved this discussion to the Premiere Pro CS5, CS5.5, & CS6 forum.  This users in this forum can likely answer your question regarding scratch disk settings.