6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2012 12:51 PM by jarnoh

Plugin to export XMP

andrewtran

I'm new to Lightroom plugin development, but I am quite familiar with the Lightroom application, SQL, and Lua. I really dislike how Lightroom does not allow XMP sidecar files for JPGs, even though that situation hardly occurs, it bothers me. So, decided to try to make a plugin and although the documentation is pretty good, there aren't many forums to ask for help.

Here is what I think I need to know how to do:

1. Is there a way of getting at the SQLite database directly?

The SQLite table Adobe_AdditionalMetadata has an xmp text column. It seems like it would be simple to export this to an .xmp file. I don't see any way of accessing it via the LR API though. Access each develop setting individually sucks because I'd have to construct the XML file, and even then, I wouldn't be able to access snapshots.

2. Is there a way I could trigger an export of the XMP file?

It seems as though the LR API works off context menu events, not Lightroom events.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

• 1. Re: Plugin to export XMP
          areohbee Level 5

It's gonna be hard to build xmp from scratch, as a plugin, me-thinks. As you've already noticed, the database is not accessible, except in very limited fashion via SDK. It may be worth considering extraction of xmp from jpg instead, or as a starting point, via exiftool, like xEmP does. I use keyboard injection to trigger xmp save, but that technique leaves a lot to be desired (doesn't work reliably). If you are hell-bent on doing it from scratch, I think you'd have to read the catalog upon startup, or an inactive catalog of the catalog after startup... Note: it would be easy to create xmp from a non-plugin app without Lightroom running, since the xmp is essentially there at the ready, not sure what issues there might be in assuring freshness...

• 2. Re: Plugin to export XMP
            andrewtran Level 1