4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2012 10:12 PM by LingeshP

Processing Form Data

LingeshP Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to CQ and I'm trying to achieve the user registration and login functionality for a website.

Below are the questions for which I'm looking for clarifications

1. How do we process the user entered data upon submission? Since we are processing the form data against the external Database/Webservice, Is there any generic approach that I can follow in CQ to achieve this?

Expected functionality,

1. user fills the form(any form)

2. upon submission process the form data

3. Based on the processing, redirect to result page.

Request your suggestions on this.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Lingesh P.

• 1. Re: Processing Form Data
          rush_pawan Level 4

Hello Lingesh,

I would prefer you to refer http://dev.day.com/docs/en/cq/current/developing/developing-forms.html which help you to know how you can use existing OOTB form component and various configuration options.

Now once you done with above then you can configure the form to use custom servlet by providing custom servlet path in "Action Configuration (Content path)" inside "Advance tab"

Servlet will help you to do process on form submission as you mentioned above. How you can develop servlet refer my earlier post for example - http://forums.adobe.com/message/4830914#4830914

from above example you can call servlet using "/libs/testservlet.json" same can set in (

"Action Configuration (Content path)" inside "Advance tab" as mentioned above)

I hope it will help you proceed. Let me know for more information or above doesn't help you.

Thanks,

Pawan

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Processing Form Data
            LingeshP Level 1

Hi Pawan,

Thanks for your inputs !.

I just tried the option you have suggested and done the following.

1. Created a custom form action component and able to list in the action type.

2. Included forward.jsp, for now the path is just hardcoded