0 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2012 10:08 AM by SLTyPete

[js][cs6] Need startup help: adding tags to existing document structure

SLTyPete

Wow, what a great community here! I've been browsing through and learned much. (Me: experienced SW dev/architect but quite new to INDD scripting.)

Context for my question: we have a large quantity of documents that are reasonably well formatted using para/char styles and few overrides. My job is to add XML structure to the document. I've written some nice scripts that translate styles into tags and such, but I have some richer auto-tagging to do and have no idea how to get from here to there. I suspect that some kind of range management and/or grep-based search might help, but as a noob I don't know how to script that, have not found any examples after hours of searching/reading, and would love a few hints to get me going.

Here's a (fake) example as a starting point. I'm placing paragraph styles in ## and character styles in {}. All styles can be converted to tags of course if that helps.

#header#Topic A Header#/header#

#subhead#A.1 subhead#/subhead#

#Content1#Intro: Day 1 topic#/Content1#

#ContentNormal#Blah {boldblah}blah{/boldblah} blah#/ContentNormal#

#subhead#A.2 subhead#/subhead#

#ContentTricky#Blah blah blah#/ContentTricky#

#headerX#Topic B Header#/headerX#

#ContentNormal#This section has a slightly different header style, as you can see#/ContentNormal#

So, the kinds of things I want to do:

* Tag all content after the #header# paragraph and before any other #header*# para as a <TopicContent> section

* Tag all content from #subhead# (including the #subhead# para) up to the next #subhead# as a <SubTopic> section

* Tag the word "Intro" within a #Content1# para as a <SpecialItem>