6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 9:50 AM by JJMack

Masks and Photoshop animation

amebade05 Level 1

Hello all,

I am have an issue creating an effect as a frame by frame animation using masks. I have been assigned a logo animation with a lower thirds by my art director. I am not working on After Effects because my knowledge of AE is zilch. I am fairly new to trying out Photoshop's video capabilities, but my ultimate goal is to export my animation as a transparent .MOV file for the video editor to overlay the logo over an interview video they are producing. Because it needs to be overlayed, my .MOV has to be transparent. I have figured out how to export my file with an alpha transparency just fine, but my issue is in the animation part.

The idea behind the logo animation is to have the letters reveal one by one. Imagine a script font with the words My Logo- I was thinking of masking the layer with the logo on it and revealing each letter one by one by painting the letters with white. Therefore, I created my first frame (I'm on the frame-by-frame dialog by the way), and my logo is completely hidden by the mask on the 1st frame. I create a second frame and I begin painting my letters one by one as I add more frames. The problem when I try to do this is that when I begin revealing my logo on the 2nd frame, the 1st frame reveals itself! The 1st frame isn't hidden as I had it, but begins revealing itself as I paint the 2nd frame!

This is my fictional logo I am animating:

Screen.jpg

The first frame shows my logo hidden by a mask with the 1st frame active.

Screen shot 2012-11-29 at 2.29.43 PM.png

Second frame is created and I begin revealing my letters by painting my mask so that it is recorded on the 2nd frame. ISSUE: The 1st frame, rather than keeping my letters hidden, it is beginning to reveal my letters such as in my 2nd frame!

Screen shot 2012-11-29 at 2.30.39 PM.png