0 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 6:55 AM by SLTyPete

Simpler noob help: scripted range selection?

SLTyPete Level 1

My first question variation got no response, so I'm thinking my question is bigger than I thought. SO... here's one part of the question in simplified form.

Context for my question: we have a large quantity of documents that are reasonably well formatted using para/char styles and few overrides. My job is to add XML structure to the document. I've written some nice scripts that translate styles into tags and such, but I have some richer auto-tagging to do and have no idea how to get from here to there. I suspect that some kind of range management and/or grep-based search might help, but as a noob I don't know how to script that, have not found any examples after hours of searching/reading, and would love a few hints to get me going.

My first-step question (I think) is how to script a (grep?) that will select a range based on paragraph styles (or tags if that helps -- making tags from styles is now easy for me). Here's what I want to do, using a (fake) exmaple...

Paragraph styles are in ## (or you could think of them as tags if that is easier/works better...)

#header#Topic A Header#/header#

#subhead#A.1 subhead#/subhead#

#Content1#Intro: Day 1 topic#/Content1#

#ContentNormal#Blah blah#/ContentNormal#

#subhead#A.2 subhead#/subhead#

#ContentTricky#Blah blah blah#/ContentTricky#

#headerX#Topic B Header#/headerX#

#ContentNormal#This section has a slightly different header style, as you can see#/ContentNormal#

Two kinds of selection I need to do:

1) Select content from one para style up to but not including the next para of the same style (eg from #subhead# up to but not including the next #subhead#)

2) Select content AFTER one para style (eg AFTER #header#) up to but not including the next matching one

and finally a wildcard version: