4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2006 11:09 AM by Rothrock

Controlling movie with mouse location

squasha
      I am a designer trying to be a flash programmer and I have a navigation idea that I've been struggling with. I am simply trying to do this: put a movie on the stage and as the mouse moves closer or farther from the movie, it plays forwards and backwards. The movie I made is a circular logo with navigation buttons curling out from it like a jack knife. My idea is to have the buttons curl out as the user moves the mouse closer to the logo and curl back in as the mouse moves away.

I understand the coding concept - calculate where the cursor is on the stage, figure out the distance of the cursor to the logo movie, and just go to certain frames in the logo movie based on that distance.

I have the stage, the logo movie, and even the code to figure out the the mouse location. But beyond that, I need help. I just don't know enough about actionscript syntax and although conceptually this seems like a basic exercise, I really don't know where to start. If anyone is willing to help, the .fla file can be downloaded here:

http://0099d33.netsolhost.com/westside-home2.fla

Thanks so much for any help you can offer. null
        • 1. Re: Controlling movie with mouse location
          squasha Level 1
          Someone on another forum site helped me with this. If anyone is interested, this was the code they came up with:

var maxDistance:Number = 300;
          mcLogo.onEnterFrame=function():Void{
          var mDistance:Number = Math.sqrt(Math.pow(_xmouse-this._x,2)+Math.pow(_ymouse-this._y,2));
          var whichFrame:Number = Math.round((mDistance*mcLogo.navmovie._totalframes)/maxDistance);
          this.navmovie.gotoAndStop(whichFrame);
          }

Works like a charm!
          • 2. Re: Controlling movie with mouse location
            Rothrock Level 5