5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2012 5:15 PM by Chris Cox

greyed out images when opened in photoshop CS

LPR0812

I ahve been happily using my photoshop but recently all my images are greyed out with small white and grey boxes so cannot view or change.  I have clicked on the imagine open section in history and it makes not difference.  What am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: greyed out images when opened in photoshop CS
          Curt Y Level 7

What extension and 8 bit or 16 bit mode?  RBG or CMYK?  OS?  CS?

• 2. Re: greyed out images when opened in photoshop CS
            Level 7

You mean the transparency grid?

Update your video card driver from the GPU maker's website.

• 3. Re: greyed out images when opened in photoshop CS
              LPR0812 Level 1

I shoudl warn you that although I use CS5 relatively well to edit I am not very technical so am finding all your helpful queries rather confusing.  However, I have managed to look deeper into my program and the images are in RGB colour on 8 but /channel.  However am working in CMYK.  THe problem is that when opened the images are now in the transparency grid and in order to view them I have to Zoom in or out whic his either too large or too small to work on.  I have not changed anything on the porgram from its initial settings.  From Chris Cox's help i am not really sure what he means by this so please help.  I am unable to find any telephone number for Adobe Help except on in the US where they tell you there is a 30 mins wait and I am based in UK.  ALso not sure what extension......or what that means.  Do you have a UK number I can call or help me further?  Thanks Lucy

• 4. Re: greyed out images when opened in photoshop CS
                Curt Y Level 7

By extension mean PSD, jpeg, tiff, etc.

Some tools only work in 8 bit RGB (Image/mode).

With these kinds of issues a screen shot is really helpful.  Save it and then when writing reply, click on camera icon and browse to location.