7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2012 12:45 AM by Michael Thornburgh

Video Phone only works when specific user initiates connection

gmcdaid1

Hi,

I have an application based on the Cirrus Video phone demo as presented here:

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/cirrus/samples/

In general, this works fine, but for one specific user with whom I test, I have the following issue:

When I initate the call, we are paired together by Cirrus, but his video/audio does not transmit to me. He can however see and hear me just fine.

When he initaites the call, everything works fine.

I'm concerned that this is an issue re. NAT/Firewall setup on standard home broadband connections, in that UDP is allowed through his firewall when the firewall sees that the connection has been initiated by him.

I'm a web developer, rather than a Flash developer, and I'm just looking for a few leads so that I can investigate this.

G

• 1. Re: Video Phone only works when specific user initiates connection
          Michael Thornburgh Adobe Employee

if video is working one way, then most likely it is a coding problem in VideoPhoneLabs somehow, since the underlying connection is bidirectional.

• 2. Re: Video Phone only works when specific user initiates connection
            gmcdaid1 Level 1

Its not a coding problem. It works on some connections and not on others.

• 3. Re: Video Phone only works when specific user initiates connection

when you say "his video/audio does not transmit to me. He can however see and hear me just fine", i assume that means that in the bad call, he receives your video/audio but you do not receive his video/audio.  there is only one network connection between the two of you, over which the video/audio would flow in both directions. if it's working in one direction, then the network connection is up, and if there was video/audio from the other side would also be able to flow over the same connection.