6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2012 2:52 PM by BenjaminMarkus

How to Set Up & Animate After Effects Puppets

Commisar0270 Level 1

Hello everyone I am relatively new to adobe after effects and have been asked to make a catapult scene from monty python for a play from my school.

Now I took a picture of the bunny which is getting catapulted over the castle wall and I took a picture of the castle using photoshop I made seperate layers for them and have them in after affects. In an attempt to make the animation I used the puppet tool to make the animation. However I know that this isn't the best way so my problems are as follows:

* when using the puppet tool I couldnt spin the bunny without deforming the bunny and making it look awful

* I would put the bunny in the middle of the castle and background so it looked as it was coming up from behind the wall yet when it put in the front of the castle the animationi did not do both it would either stay in front of the castle or behind

I know that there are better ways to do the animation and I would greatly appreciate any help or pointers, I not sure if I posted this in the right spot but excuse me if I didn't

• 1. Re: Catapult scene help
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Think kayers and animating position and rotation. Don't use the puppet tool to try and rotate. If you need to have the bunny go behind a wall then you have to make a layer of just the wall then put the bunny behind it at the right time. To do that, split the wall layer when the bunny is above it and then put the bunny between the layers.

Make sure you understand how anchor points and rotation work. The layer always rotates and transforms around the anchor point.

Let me know if you need any more help.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Catapult scene help
            Commisar0270 Level 1