4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2012 9:26 AM by Rick Gerard

Make a high res photo smaller, while keeping it high res

beelling

How can I take a high res photo into AE, size it down and keep it high res? I have to make a video where I have mutliple headshots close together.

• 1. Re: Make a high res photo smaller, while keeping it high res
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Your question doesn't really make any sense, sorry.  Your photo is the resolution it is. 

What is the actual resolution (in pixels) of your photo?  What is the output resolution required?  What is the output medium/media?

• 2. Re: Make a high res photo smaller, while keeping it high res
            beelling Level 1

The photos are 3798 by 3378 with a pixel resolution of 72. The AE comp settings are 1920 by 1080 HDTV 1080 24. And yeah aorry about the wording of my question. I'm just really new to AE and i'm used to photoshop when it comes to scaling an image down. So when I shift click the image once in it is my comp window, when I size it down it loses it's quality and becomes pixilated.

• 3. Re: Make a high res photo smaller, while keeping it high res
              beelling Level 1

I figured it all out, it's early and I was just making foolish mistakes... like asking this.

• 4. Re: Make a high res photo smaller, while keeping it high res
                Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Resolution is the number of pixels. When you scale down an image in After Effects AE cannot cram more pixels in physical space. Let me explain. I'm going to use whole numbers so the calculations are easier.

If yhour image is 3000 pixels wide and you put it in a 1500 pixel wide AE comp then AE will crop the image to 1500 pixels wide. You will only see half of the image. You can move the image around because the pixels in the image outside of AE that are not in the Composition Canvas are not lost, they are just not visible in the composition because they are cropped.