4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2008 8:10 AM by Newsgroup_User

Help! ... Old dog, new tricks??

Nate Owens
      Maybe I'm trying to do the impossible... but thought I would ask.
      If there is another place to post this, please advise

I am basically an illustrator and designer, and I use simple Flash to do projects on occasion for some clients. I'm no programmer or scripts-wizard, and I stopped upgrading Flash at Macromedia version 5, which has been sufficient for what I want to do - and does it simply.

Now I must do Flash work for a publisher using their CS3 Adobe version and actions are the only hangup I have encountered. So... maybe there is an easy answer here so I can get the show on the road....

In Flash 5, it is fairly easy to add frame and mouse actions by simply dragging the required action from one window to the next, and there are popup boxes that allow you to fill in things like the frame or label to go to, or if a certain frame is loaded, etc.

In Flash CS3 are there any such "helpers" with fields you can type in the data (as described above) so that the program writes the correct scripting like Flash 5 does?

Doing Flash stuff is just a periphereal part of what I do, and I am hoping I don't have to plunge into a lengthy curve of learning scriptology just to get this project accomplished. It is a simple project, but adding some basic actions is becoming a nightmare.
        • 1. Re: Help! ... Old dog, new tricks??
          Level 7
          Nate,

> In Flash 5, it is fairly easy to add frame and mouse actions
          > by simply dragging the required action from one window to
          > the next, and there are popup boxes that allow you to fill in
          > things like the frame or label to go to, or if a certain frame
          > is loaded, etc.

It comes down to what language you're using. When you create a new FLA
          (File > New...) you'll see the choice for ActionScript 3.0 and 2.0. Unless