2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2012 2:58 PM by the_wine_snob

PE 9 - Why is my exported file larger than the source?

SeanieOS Level 1

Hello

I am new to Adobe Premier Elements 9. I have a Digital Video Recorder connected to my television. It produces MPEG-2 TS VIDEO FILEs. I want to import these into PE9 and just cut out the ads.

I tried with a source file that is 1GB in size. I imported it and removed the ads but when I export it using Share > Computer and select settings that mimic the source I stll end up with a 3.7GB file. I thought it should be smaller that 1GB because the video is now about 5 minutes shorter.

In my Export settings I chose:

Multiplexer: TS

Audio: Left it untouched

Video:

Basic Video Settings:

Quality = 4

Everything else set to Automatic (based on source)

Render at Maximum Depth left unchecked

Bitrate Settings:

Encoding: VBR, 1 Pass

Bitrate Level - Custom

Min, Target and Max all set to 15

GOP Settings:

M Frames: 3

N Frames: 12

Is my DVR better at encoding/compressing video that PE9 or are my export setting wrong? Shouldn't the exported file be less that 1GB?

• 1. Re: PE 9 - Why is my exported file larger than the source?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

A file is more than just its content. There is the compression system (codec), quality level, bit rate, etc. Even the brand of codec can make a difference.

It's pretty much impossible to get the same video size out as you put in. (Well, unless you're working with DV-AVIs, which are compressed at a fixed rate.)

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: PE 9 - Why is my exported file larger than the source?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

As Steve points out, there are two parameters, that affect File Size:

Duration

Bit-Rate

With a fixed Duration, the only way to adjust File Size is lower the Bit-Rate (lower Bit-Rate = smaller File Size, but at the expense of quality.